Lichtenberger & Osborne-Lanthier combine on new record

Jesse Osborne Lanthier & Grischa Lichtenberger Press Pic 2

The upcoming Conversations Sur Lettres Mortes for Cosmo Rhythmatic features accompanying remixes from Low Jack, Rabit and Gábor Lázár.

By the looks of things so far it seems the Cosmo Rhythmatic label operated by Shapednoise, Ascion and D. Carbone enjoys the notion of collaboration, commissioned or otherwise. Since launching in 2014 with an album by French conceptualist Franck Vigroux, the label has released two collaborative projects from Black Rain & Shapednoise and Mika Vainio & Franck Vigroux. The label’s next transmission will come from Raster-Noton affiliate Grischa Lichtenberger, whose 2015 series La Demeure; Il Y A Péril En La Demeure album is worth investigating, and recent Where To Now? contributor Jesse Osborne-Lanthier. Entitled Conversations Sur Lettres Mortes, the collaboration was first conceived for the 2014 edition of Montreal’s Mutek festival which Cosmo Rhythmatic now plan to release as a nine-track package.

Cosmo Rhythmatic explains the music was “generated using various cathode ray television sets and VHS units operated by Osborne-Lanthier and Lichtenberger… Tinkering with the artifacts in such ways allows them to subvert their functionality.” Furthermore, the label have commissioned remixes that sit on the accompanying side to the six compositions from Osborne Lanthier and Lichtenberger. Sound-bombing French artist Low Jack – still reeling from his Modern Love LP Lighthouse Stories – leads the way, whilst Shapednoise’s relationship with Manchester label The Death of Rave and his UK industrial grime connections are furthered with remixes plucked from Gábor Lázár and Rabit respectively.

You can watch a visual trailer for the track “House / Magma” below for an idea of the sonics involved in this latest project from Cosmo Rhythmatic. Furthermore, the label will be celebrating the release of Conversations Sur Lettres Mortes in conjunction with CTM Festival at Berghain on June 10, with Osborne Lanthier and Lichtenberger performing live together and Juno Plus favourites Nina and Xosar also on the bill. More details for the Berlin residents can be found here.

Cosmo Rhythmatic will release Conversations Sur Lettres Mortes by Jesse Osborne-Lanthier & Grischa Lichtenberger on June 9.

CR04 Artwork


A1. CRT Creeper
A2. House / Magma
A3. Comcast
A4. Good Morning America
A5. 4% (Maurice)
A6. Primetime
B1. CRT Creeper (Low Jack Remix)
B2. Good Morning America (Gabor Lazar Remix)
B3. 4% (Rabit Remix)

Cosmo Rhythmatic on Juno

Leave a reply