Jabu join RAMP with Kwaidan

The Young Echo duo will release a seven-track EP on the UK label next month.

Comprised of Zhou member Amos Childs and vocalist Alex Rendall, Jabu have been part of Bristol’s multifarious Young Echo collective since its inception, making their official debut with the project on a self-titled cassette of delicate tape-loop miniatures for Astro:Dynamics back in 2012. As well as featuring on a split cassette for No Corner with the soundsystem murdering Killing Sound project, the duo last year released a 7″ for the same label which took their material into more explicitly lyrical territory.

Given that the duo appeared on RAMP’s compilation of Young Echo material last year, news of a full Jabu release for the label comes as little surprise. Entitled Kwaidan, the seven-track EP is due for release next month and sees the duo offer a further development in their US East Coast hip hop influenced take on the Bristol soundsystem aesthetic. Those interested in previewing the record ahead of release can stream the track “Chamber” below.

RAMP Recordings will release Kwaidan by Jabu on July 14.

Jabu - Kwaidan


1. Untitled
2. Chamber
3. Don’t Fall Down
4. Untitled #2
5. Empty Days
6. Limousine
7. Outro

Leave a reply