Bill Brewster has After Dark Nightshift

Bill Brew 590

The respected DJ and scribe has mixed a second After Dark selection for the Late Night Tales label.

Since mutating from Another Late Night into Late Night Tales, the long-running series has essentially outlived all competition when it comes to the curated ‘after hours’ compilation series, and has become increasingly broad in who they approach to curate, with Django Django, Röyksopp and Bonobo three recent entrants. Last year saw the launch of After Dark, a more DJ-focused series that was to run in parallel with the main series, with DJ History founder and general disco sage Bill Brewster enlisted to mix the inaugural edition. With the 18-track, exclusive-blessed mix well-received both critically and publicly, it’s little surprise that Brewster has been tapped for a second edition.

Due in July and entitled After Dark: Night Shift, Brewster’s refined digging and selection skills have resulted in another 18-track mix that looks like a nice blend of new and old music complemented by a smattering of unreleased material. The Emperor Machine, DJ Nature, Justus Köhncke, cult Wurst act Neurotic Drum Band and Claremont56 group Paqua all feature, whilst Brewster’s reputation has allowed for some interesting excavated exclusives from The Grid & Robert Fripp and The Gino Fontaine, “a tune spotted a year ago but has languished in Andy Meecham’s Stafford catacombs ever since.”

In addition to the CD and digital editions of After Dark: Night Shift, a double 12″ version containing twelve of the tracks will also be issued by Late Night Tales.

Late Night Tales will release After Dark: Night Shift on July 7.



1. Typesun – Last Home (DJ Nature Remix)
2. The Blaxploited Orchestra – The Pursuit (Good Guy Mikesh & Filburt Remix)
3. The Gino Fontaine – Revnorev (Exclusive Track)
4. Salsoul Invention – Soul Machine
5. Neurotic Drum Band – Neurotic Erotic Adventure
6. Day Outside – Faraway Sensation
7. Mugwump – Boutade (Miseridub)
8. Hubbabubbaklubb – Mopedbart
9. As One – Music Is An Open Sky
10. Crowdpleaser & St Plomb – Not Yet Not Yet
11. Paqua – Late Train (Emperor Machine Remix)
12. The Grid & Robert Fripp – A Cabala Sky (Exclusive Track)
13. Asadinho – Haiku
14. Justus Köhncke – Tell Me
15. Daniele Patucchi – People Come In (Mang Dynasty Edit)
16. Mang Dynasty – After Dark (Dub) (Exclusive Track)
17. Detachments – The Flowers That Fell (Fernando Remix) (Exclusive Track)
18. General Lee – Magic

Vinyl Tracklisting:

A1. Typesun – Last Home (Original mix)
A2. The Gino Fontaine – Revnorev (Exclusive Track)
A3. Salsoul Invention – Soul Machine
A4. General – Magic
B1. Day Outside – Faraway Sensation
B2. Mugwump – Boutade (Miseridub)
C1. Hubbabubbaklubb – Mopedbart
C2. Crowdpleaser & St Plomb – Not Yet Not Yet
C3. The Grid & Robert Fripp – A Cabala Sky
D1. Daniele Patucchi – People Come In
D2. Mang Dynasty – After Dark (Dub) (Exclusive Track)
D3. Detachments – The Flowers That Fell (Fernando Remix)

Leave a reply