Details of Oneman’s Fabriclive mix announced

Oneman, the Rinse FM DJ who retains a towering presence in UK electronic music circles, will mix the 64th instalment in the Fabriclive series.

Today Fabric unveiled the tracklisting and artwork for the CD, which is set for release in July. The man otherwise known as Steve Bishop has included cuts from a number of his British contemporaries in Pearson Sound, Bok Bok, Burial, Joy Orbison and Boddika, alongside the kind of classic garage cuts that have been a staple of his sets down the years from the likes of Youngstar, Steve Gurley and Tuff Jam.

In a press release distributed today, Bishop explained his track selection: “I wanted the mix to primarily be a representation of what I would typically play at fabric in current terms, so bearing that in mind I decided to draw on a lot of new house crossover stuff. The beginning of the mix is kind of a throwback to 2010, where I felt this UK Funky sound really started developing into another darker strand of UK dance music. The rest is really a mix of 128-134bpm music through the years; there’s some old Locked On garage classics in there too… I never really think out these things too much, it just has to make sense when I listen back to it.”

The London club will host a launch party for the mix on Friday, August 3, with Artwork, Loefah and Kode9 joining Oneman behind the decks.

Fabric will release Fabriclive 64 by Oneman on July 16, 2012.


1. Mark Pritchard – ? [Ho Hum]
2. Fis-T – Night Hunter [502 Recordings]
3. Grievous Angel – Move Down Low VIP [Soul Jazz]
4. SBTRKT – 2020 [Brainmath]
5. Groove Connektion 2 – Club Lonely (Dem 2 Lonely Vocal Remix) [XL]
6. Mosca – Gold Bricks, I See You [fabric]
7. Lando Kal – Further [Hotflush]
8. Doubleheart – Salsa [Nonplus]
9. Pearson Sound – Untitled [Pearson Sound]
10. MikeQ – The Ha Dub Rewerk’d [Fade to Mind]
11. Nu-Birth – Anytime [XL]
12. Bok Bok & Tom Trago – Vector [Sound Pellegrino]
13. Joy Orbison – The Shrew Would Have Cushioned The Blow [Aus]
14. Distance – Feel Me [Chestplate]
15. Boddika – Soul What VIP [Swamp81]
16. Basement Jaxx – Red Alert (Steve Gurley Mix) [XL]
17. Girl Unit – Wut (Claude Vonstroke’s Butt Naked Mix) [Night Slugs]
18. Joy Orbison – Ellipsis [Hinge Finger]
19. Ce Ce Peniston – Somebody Else’s Guy (Tuff Jam’s Classic Garage) [A&M]
20. Teeth – Shawty VIP [502 Recordings]
21. Ed Case – Something In Your Eyes (Underground Solution Mix) [Red Rose]
22. Thefft – Switch [unreleased]
23. Youngstar – Pulse Y Remix [DDJ’s Productions]
24. Burial – Etched Headplate [Hyperdub]

Leave a reply