Minimal Wave announce Sympathy Nervous release

On point New York label Minimal Wave have announced details of their next release, from Japanese synth artist Sympathy Nervous.

The project of Japanese artist Yosihumi Niinuma, whose music is purportedly influenced by both classical and Krautrock, Sympathy Nervous’s  recording career stretched from the 70s to the 90s, with his music exploring dystopian themes. Automaticism features songs Yosihumi recorded between 1979-1981, with most originally earmarked for a cassette release, but not seeing a release until now. Minimal Wave’s strong curatorial ear continues, with the 12″ containing a typically brittle collection of delicate analogue oddities.

The release also has a particularly poignant story behind it, with Niinuma having lost everything, including recordings, instruments, hand built sequencers and his home in the recent Japanese tsunami. However, the audio masters for this release made their way to Minimal Wave prior to the event, and the record is fully dedicated to him, in memory of all his lost recordings, with all proceeds going to the artist.

Automaticism will be released on October 5 through Minimal Wave.

A1 – Accident
A2 – Cold Weather
A3 – His Forte
B1 – Polaroid
B2 – Cabaret Voltaire
B3 – Extended Time
B4 – Quickshot Robeat

Leave a reply

  1. Wavatar Hans says: