On-U Sound announce Nisennenmondai album

The Tokyo trio’s collaboration with Adrian Sherwood is seeing a wider and expanded release in April.

After witnessing two thirds of Nisennenmondai perform alongside Shackleton for a highlight of last year’s Unsound festival, we were quite excited to hear how the latest album from the Tokyo group was going to sound. Especially as we knew On-U Sound boss Adrian Sherwood was on the buttons for the album, snappily titled #N/A (which stands for Nisennenmondai and Adrian), but sadly it only saw a limited CD release within Japan on the Tokyo label Beat Records. Our blessings must go to On-U Sound then with the news they have licensed #N/A for an expanded double LP and CD issue which is set to arrive in April.

Over the course of the nine albums released so far, drummer Sayaka Himeno, basssist Yuri Zaikawa and guitar player Masako Takada have honed the Nisennenmondai sound in a manner similar to Factory Floor. Their early music betrayed open references to Sonic Youth, DNA and This Heat, but now Nisennenmondai are a much more rhythmically intense beast, with #N/A apparently sounding “reminiscent in places of the classic Basic Channel sound” thanks to the addition of Sherwood. The international edition of the album due on Sherwood’s label includes two bonus ‘live dub mixes’ taken from a performance by Nisennenmondai and the On-U Sound man at Tokyo’s Unit club. You can hear “#3” from the album below ahead of its arrival in April.

On-U Sound will release #N/A by Nisennenmondai on April 1.


1. #1
2. #2
3. #3
4. #4
5. #5
6. A’ (live at Unit, 18 April 2015)
7. B-1′ (live at Unit, 18 April 2015)

On-U Sound on Juno