Downwards to release debut album from OAKE

The Berlin-based duo will release Auferstehung on Karl O’Connor’s label next month.

Having debuted on Downwards early last year with Offenbarung, the Berlin-based OAKE duo have since become a firm fixture on Karl O’Connor’s label. Brandishing a dark sound combining electronics and strings that complements their crepuscular aesthetic, the unnamed duo share a similarly claustrophobic atmosphere to like-minded artists Samuel Kerridge and Raime, making them well suited to the Downwards cause. As well as a further four-track EP called Vollstreckung, the duo also contributed a track to last year’s Downwards 20th Anniversary compilation Halha.

Downwards have been hinting at a more comprehensive release from OAKE for some time via their preferred channel of comminication, The Black Freighter tumblrand today the label revealed full details. We say full, but Downwards remain typically cryptic on the matter, confirming only that Auferstehung is 11 tracks long, due for release next month and “marks an end and a beginning at the same time.”

Downwards will release Auferstehung on 2LP format on December 1.



A1. Vorwort: Umiha Sien
A2. Kapitel Eins: Edunien Edreue
A3. Erstes Buch: Desterieh l’Remm
B1. Zweites Buch: Var Genstien
B2. Drittes Buch: Graevann Grewen
B3. Kapitel Zwei: Brachem Dest
C1. Viertes Buch: Mortre Wrid
C2. Fuenftes Buch: Dreloi Wechd
D1. Kapitel Drei: Rechs Zegon
D2. Sechstes Buch: Rehmin Sicht
D3. Siebtes Buch: Drestan Sened