Madteo returns to Morphine with Insider

The NYC-based producer will return to Rabih Beaini’s label with a three-track EP.

Although he has been producing since 2007, with credits for esteemed labels like Meakusma and Workshop, Madteo was arguably thrust into the spotlight last year after providing the inaugural release for Will Bankhead and Joy Orbison’s Hinge Finger label and releasing the outstanding Noi No album on Sahko. The Queens-based Madteo first appeared on Rabih Beaini’s Morphine with his debut album Memoria, released back in 2008 when the label was still in its relative infancy, and the producer’s next EP will see the producer rekindling that relationship and continuing the strong run of releases from the label since its reboot roughly a year ago brought forth essential releases from Metasplice, Hieroglyphic Being and Container.

Entitled Insider (which we’re hoping is a typically wry comment on the “outsider house” trend), the EP sees three tracks that seem to return more to the experimental techno sketches of Noi No than the dusty beatdown of his Hinge Finger release, with the pulsating title track and strung-out drones of “Pram Reset” standing out.

No confirmed release date yet, but clips of the EP can be heard at the Rush Hour website.


1. Insider
2. The Hidden Hand Principle
3. Pram Reset