Jessy Lanza debuts on Hyperdub

Hyperdub have revealed details of the debut album from the Ontario-based producer and vocalist Jessy Lanza.

In a turn as unexpected as the announcement of Laurel Halo’s Quarantine last year, Hyperdub will continue to expand their ever-ranging remit with the release of Pull My Hair Back, the debut album of Canadian artist Jessy Lanza, distinguished by a pop sensibility unique within the label’s discography. Combining R&B, disco, house and synthpop influences, the album was co-produced with the assistance of Junior Boys’ Jeremy Greenspan; Hyperdub themselves describe the album as being reminiscent of early Junior Boys, “treading that fine line between cold futurism and the R&B the duo are infatuated with”.

Like Greenspan, Lanza is based in Hamilton, Ontario and despite a paucity of recorded output she¬†is already something of a live fixture in her home country, having appeared at last year’s MUTEK. Eagle-eared Hyperdub fans will also have heard her contributing vocals on Ikonika’s forthcoming single Beach Mode and a¬†taste of what to expect from the album can be gleaned from the video for album track “Kathy Lee” below.

Hyperdub will release Pull My Hair Back on CD, LP and digital formats on September 9.


1. Giddy
2. 5785021
3. Kathy Lee
4. Fuck Diamond
5. Keep Moving
6. Against the Wall
7. Pull My Hair Back
8. As If
9. Strange Emotion