Listen: Regis – Hidden Summer Mix

Immerse yourself in nearly an hour’s worth of horizontally inclined post-punk and industrial pop sounds from Downwards boss Regis with his latest mixtape, Hidden Summer.

Surfacing earlier today on the WhereNext? tumblr seemingly tasked with broadcasting all post Sandwell District emissions, the 56 minute selection will delight anyone who indulged in the White Savage Dance 12″ reissue of early recordings from the highly feted doyen of Midlands techno that dropped towards the end of 2011. The Epic Soundtracks cover of “I Wanna Be Free” by the Monkees is a particularly dreamy delight, featuring alongside all manner of bittersweet curios from the likes of Current 93, The Cocteau Twins and Coli that evoke hazy, pastoral images of another English summer.


1. Andi Sex Gang – The Devil’s Golden Hand
2. Epic Soundtracks – I Wanna Be Free
3. The Jesus And Marychain – Nine Million Rainy Days
4. Death In June – Hail ! The White Grain
5. Einsturzende Neubauten – Total Eclipse Of The Sun
6. Wiseblood – Someone Died In My Pool
7. Current 93 – Summer Of Love
8. The Willing Sinners – Jackel Jackel
9. Coil – Ostia (Death Of Passolini)
10. The Cocteau Twins – Pearly Dew-Drop Drops
11. Boyd Rice – Someday
12. Rowland S Howard – Ocean