Olde English Spelling Bee ready Thought Broadcast album

The resurgence of Olde English Spelling Bee continues apace with news the US label will release a debut album from NYC outfit Thought Broadcast. 

The 12-track set follow just two weeks after the label – which had been on hiatus for a year and a half – returned with the excellent Pink Keys album from Alice Cohen. Thought Broadcast’s only previous recorded output consists of a 7″ on Phaserprone and a couple of super limited cassette-only releases via obscure imprints Gel and Hierodule.

On first listen, the eponymous album sounds sits somewhere between the dubby minimalist techno explorations conducted on labels like Raster-Noton and the tape saturated aesthetics of experimental 1980s post-punk. The label enjoyed something of a golden spell in 2010, releasing music from James Ferraro, Stellar OM Source, Autre Ne Veut and Forest Swords, before a self imposed hiatus began in 2011.

Olde English Spelling Bee will release Thought Broadcast’s Thought Broadcast LP on June 26, 2012.


1. Consumer Blackmail
2. Motorschiz
3. Ten Toes Down
4. Fortune Teller
5. Jungle Nausea
6. Mad Tea Party
7. Stylite
8. Bonepolish
9. State Children
10. Imperial Mask
11. Yegg
12. Anemic Session