Onra readies Chinoiseries Pt 2

Parisian producer Onra will release his fourth solo album, entitled Chinoiseries Pt 2, via Irish imprint All City.

The whopping 32-track selection is a follow-up to the Frenchman’s 2007 debut opus Chinoiseries, which was masterfully pieced together using samples from old Chinese and Vietnamese records found while crate digging in Vietnam. The news was revealed way back in 2010 in an interview conducted by Juno Plus scribe Helen Luu, with this album set to be followed by a dub reggae influenced long player.

All of this constitutes a deviation from last year’s excellent opus, Long Distance, which saw Onra delve into the realm of R&B, funk and boogie sampledelica, with excellent original vocal contributions from the likes of Reggie B and Oliver Day Soul.

No word on a release date yet, but we do know All City will release Chinoiseries Pt 2 on both CD and 2xLP formats. In other Onra news, a 7″ featuring two sumptuously packaged boogie edits arrived this week (also via All City) to promote his upcoming tour of Japan.

Update: The release date is November 15.


1. The Arrival
2. A New Dynasty
3. It’s All Memories
4. Remember The Name
5. Open The Door
6. Gotta Go
7. Mai’s Theme
8. Words Of Encouragement
9. Trapped
10. One For The Wu
11. No Matter What
12. Meet The Queen
13. Stay With Me
14. Opium Delirium
15. Cold Blooded
16. Where I’m From
17. Still Broke
18. Snakes & Smoke
19. Mai’s Theme 2
20. Raw Shit
21. Ms. Ho
22. All Night
23. In My Mind
24. Hide And Seek
25. Play The Game
26. Warriors Pride
27. Like Father, Like Son
28. Fight Or Die
29. Through The Flesh
30. They Got Breaks Two
31. Tears Of Joy
32. The End