Mercury Prize shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2011 Mercury Prize was announced today.

A decidedly unadventurous selection includes the debut album from James Blake (pictured above) – which split critics down the middle – alongside Katy B’s On A Mission, while Ghostpoet’s LP for Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood imprint was one of the more interesting choices.

The winner will be announced on September 6. Check out the final list of albums below.

Mercury Prize 2011 – shortlist:

Anna Calvi – Anna Calvi
Elbow – Build A Rocket Boys
James Blake – James Blake
Katy B – On A Mission
Metronomy – The English Riviera
PJ Harvey – Let England Shake
Tinie Tempah – Disc-Overy
Everything Everything – Man Alive
King Creosote & Jon Hopkins – Diamond Mine
Gwilym Simcock – Good Days At Schloss Elmau
Ghostpoet – Peanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam
Adele – 21