Blake and Woon on BBC Sound Of 2011 list

James Blake and Jamie Woon are among the artists featured in the BBC’s Sound Of 2011 long list, released today.

Those with even a passing interest in what we’ll loosely phrase as ‘cutting edge electronic music’ will be fully aware of Blake’s exploits in 2010, with a slew of fine releases for R&S (twice), Hessle Audio and Atlas.

Despite his tender years he’s already been heralded as one of the key figures in the post-dubstep musical landscape. His newest release – “Limit To You Love” – showcases his vocal croon for the first time.

Jamie Woon, meanwhile, has been floating around the live acoustic scene for a few years now, but came to prominence within the electronic music fraternity in 2010 when his “Night Air” disco was remixed by Ramadanman and Burial, the latter of whom also helped out in producing the original.

The list is decided upon by a poll of around two hundred pundits including high profile radio DJs, TV presenters, journalists and bloggers. Despite a decent overall track record, the list is routinely sniffed at in some quarters, and a few of the inclusions in this year’s selection are sure to raise eyebrows.

2010’s list was populated by the likes of Joy Orbison, Gold Panda, Two Door Cinema Club and Delphic, who between them enjoyed varying success over the past 12 months.

The full BBC Sound of 2011 list is as follows:

Anna Calvi
Clare Maguire
Esben & The Witch
Jai Paul
James Blake
Jamie Woon
Jessie J
The Naked & Famous
The Vaccines
Wretch 32