Secure shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

Secure shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Secure shopping

Vinyl & CDs

The world's largest dance music store featuring the most comprehensive selection of new and back catalogue dance music Vinyl and CDs online.  Visit Juno Records

Efficient Space returns with Sky Girl compilation

French collectors DJ Sundae and Julien Dechery have been tasked with compiling the journey through folk-pop, new wave and art music micro presses.

Sydney-based radio show Noise In My Head were only two releases into their associated label when founder Michael Kucyk announced plans to expand operations with the archivally-minded Efficient Space. The focus of Efficient Space’s inaugural release was the early-’90s work of unsung Australian producer Brendan Schlager whose 1990 On The Moon 12″ was given an expanded reissue in August last year. The radio silence from Efficient Space in the ensuing months suggested Kucyk had something special brewing, a notion that has come to fruition with the announcement of a most-intriguing compilation entitled Sky Girl.

The fifteen-track selection has been compiled by French diggers DJ Sundae and Julian Dechery, two individuals with plenty of experience when it comes to the archival field. The former heads the recently-founded Idle Press label responsible for that delightful Pitch reissue, whilst Dechery co-compiled Fire Star, a retrospective on Tamil film composer Ilaiyaraaja, for the Bombay Connection label. The music on Sky Girl spans some three decades with Efficient Space describing it as “a deeply melancholic and sentimental journey through folk-pop, new wave and art music micro presses.”

With few recognisable artists or tracks on the compilation beyond the icy Oz-wave of “Cold Cafe” by Karen Marks, Sky Girl should be a delight for those music lovers out there whose tastes are driven by discovery. Perks and Mini’s Misha Hollenbach has been commissioned to provide the below artwork whilst some “appropriately elegant sleeve notes” come from London-based Frenchman Ivan Smagghe. You can preview the compilation below.

Efficient Space will release Sky Girl by Various Artists on July 8.


1. Linda Smith – I So Liked Spring
2. Karen Marks – Cold Cafe
3. Bruce Langhorne – Leaving Del Norte
4. The Seraphims – The Consciousness of Happening
5. Gary Davenport – Sarra
6. Some Of My Best Friends Are Canadians – Feeling Sheepish
7. The Rising Storm – Frozen Laughter
8. Warfield Spillers – Daddy’s Little Girl
9. Joyce Heath – I Wouldn’t Dream Of It
10. Joe Tossini and Friends – Wild Dream
11. Scott Seskind – I Remember
12. Angel – Driving (Down)
13. Nini Raviolette and Hugo Weris – Slow
14. Nora Guthrie – Home Before Dark
15. Once – Joanna

Efficient Space on Juno