Secure shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

Secure shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Secure shopping

Vinyl & CDs

The world's largest dance music store featuring the most comprehensive selection of new and back catalogue dance music Vinyl and CDs online.  Visit Juno Records

Mute’s Cabaret Voltaire programme continues with compilation

Two eras of the iconic Sheffield group’s output compiled on #7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985).

Last year Mute Records announced plans to dig through the fairly intimidating archives of Cabaret Voltaire to present a series of reissues and boxsets, with a remastered edition of the Sheffield act’s classic 1981 album Red Mecca issued over the summer commencing proceedings. The campaign took on a broader outlook in November with the release of #8385 (Collected Works 1983 – 1985), a box set that was clearly aimed at the more affluent Cabs completists out there, incorporating four albums from the band’s industrious mid ’80s period, a rack of EPs and unreleased material as well as two DVDs. It’s now been revealed Mute’s ongoing focus on all things Cabaret Voltaire will continue apace with the release of #7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985), a compilation overseen by curmudgeonly band figurehead Richard H. Kirk that pulls together material from two distinct eras.

Due in late June, the compilation’s subtitle gives a clue as to the sonic development explored over the course of the eighteen tracks, pulling from the 1978-81 period when Richard H Kirk, Stephen Mallinder and Chris Watson were all involved, as well as the two years of studio recordings after Watson’s departure in 1983. Both Kirk and Mute founder Daniel Miller contribute extensive sleeve notes, whilst a press release from Mute has the former stating the compilation make up of 7” singles, edits and shorter album tracks represents “a kind of sound bite take on Cabaret Voltaire.” You can stream the radio edit of “Crackdown” from the forthcoming release below.

Mute will release  #7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985) by Cabaret Voltaire on June 23.


1. Do The Mussolini (Headkick)
2. The Set UP
3. Nag Nag Nag
4. On Every Other Street
5. Silent Command
6. Kneel To The Boss
7. Seconds Too Late
8. Landslide
9. Breathe Deep
10. Just Fascination (7-inch Version)
11. Crackdown (Radio Edit 83)
12. The Dream Ticket (7-inch Version)
13. Sensoria (7-inch Version)
14. James Brown (7-inch Version)
15. Kino (7-inch Version)
16. Big Funk (7-inch Version)
17. I Want You (7-inch Version)
18. Warm