Girl Unit steps up for the NSMIX series

Number 003 in the Night Slugs infrequent label mix series is a typically bumping selection from Girl Unit.

Founded last year, the NSMIX series has become a primer for the label’s current tastes as well as offering a glimpse at what the future months hold for Night Slugs output. With label captains Bok Bok and L-Vis 1990 occupying the first two slots, it makes sense for one of Night Slugs’ most loyal servants to step up next and Girl Unit does not disappoint. Sixteen tracks in just over 35 minutes makes it a breathless ride, with Girl Unit showcasing upcoming Hyperdub material from Ikonika, unreleased material from labelmates Jam City, Bok Bok and L-Vis 1990, along with Bmore rerubs of early 80s discofunk classics, vogue and a dash of recent US R&B from Ciara and Brandy.


1. Ikonika – Mr Cake (Hyperdub)
2. DJ TECHNICS – Nights In Egypt (DSG Records)
3. DJ BOOMAN – Ha Ha
4. P.O.L. Style / Matrixxman / Vin Sol – Sexual Convo
5. DJ Hook – Jay Desean Vogue Theme
6. DJ J-Heat – NJ Transit Anthem
7. Hysterics – Pleasuredrome (Night Slugs Club Constructons)
8. Blezt / DJ J-Heat – Tw3rk
9. DJ Spooky – Missy Hot Boys Refix 06 (Party Package)
10. L-VIS 1990 – Space Drips (Night Slugs)
11. Kingdom – Viper XL (Fade To Mind)
12. Bok Bok – And Dancin (Night Slugs)
13. Jam City – Pink Snow
14. Girl Unit – Praise Dance
15. Brandy – Paint This House (RCA)
16. Ciara – Body Party (Instrumental) (Epic)

Recorded @ Rinse FM & NSHQ

Header photo by Ashley Mar