Secure shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

Secure shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Secure shopping

Vinyl & CDs

The world's largest dance music store featuring the most comprehensive selection of new and back catalogue dance music Vinyl and CDs online.  Visit Juno Records

Public Information to release compilation of F.C. Judd interpretations

Public Information have announced a compilation of contemporary artists reinterpreting the music of early electronic pioneer F.C. Judd.

Originally the subject of a retrospective release from Public Information early in 2012 entitled Electronics Without Tears, F.C. Judd was an under-appreciated figure of early electronic music who experimented with oscillators, filters and amplifiers, alongside his own self-built electro-mechanical drum machine and experimental synthesiser, primarily during the 1950s and 60s; through his writings, radio broadcasts and lectures at amateur tape recordings across the country he encouraged the general public to engage with musique concrete by experimenting with their own tape recorders. Despite his considerable archive of recordings, it wasn’t until Ian Helliwell’s 2011 film Practical Electronica that Judd started to receive the same attention as peers such as Delia Derbyshire and Daphne Oram.

Now Public Information have announced that they will follow up the retrospective with a compilation entitled Interpretations On F.C. Judd; initially hinted at in our interview with Public Information earlier this week, the label have given all artists involved access to Judd’s entire archive of sounds, tone experiments, field recordings and lectures, and left them to “produce an audio artefact befitting of Judd himself”. Although perhaps not the most obvious subject for such a project, Public Information have nevertheless assembled an interesting and diverse collection of kindred spirits to contribute their own takes on Judd’s music, including filmmaker Helliwell himself, RVNG artist Holly Herndon, techno veteran Perc, Hessle Audio and Liberation Technologies’ Bandshell, and Throbbing Gristle’s Chris Carter, whose contribution can be streamed below.

The LP will be the label’s tenth release, following releases from the likes of analogue explorer Ekoplekz, decayed electronica producer Austin Cesear, and Chicago-based, industrial post-punk inspired duo Acteurs; before Interpretations lands however their ninth release will be an as yet untitled 12″ release from recent Juno Plus podcaster IVVVO.

Public Information will release Interpretations On F.C. Judd on LP and digital formats on May 20.


A1 Ian Helliwell – Solid States
A2 Perc – Woodford
A3 Chris Carter – Flip-Flop
A4 Holly Herndon – Control Sample
A5 Mordant Music – Hoarded House (reMMix Fredit)
A6 The Boats – Space Judder
B1 Pye Corner Audio – Splice Block
B2 Leyland Kirby – Slim Jim Wimshurst Mechanicals
B3 Karen Gwyer – Judd Drums
B4 Peter Rehberg – FJUDDmix 032013
B5 Bandshell – Concrete Teeth
B6 Ekoplekz – Fredwrek