Richard Sen curates This Ain’t Chicago compilation

Strut Records’ tireless endeavours to document the various pockets of dance music history sees them call on Richard Sen to compile This Ain’t Chicago: The Sound Of Underground UK House & Acid 1987-1991.

As the vaguely self explanatory title hints, the forthcoming compilation has seen Strut task the Padded Cell main man and respected graffiti artist Richard Sen with collating the house and acid that he feels typifies “the heady era when UK producers were responding to the first wave of Chicago house and documents the underground clubs that first championed the music”.

Clearly given a broad remit, Sen has elected to choose from a wide range of music from the era, with the 23-track unmixed compilation featuring recognisable producers such as Baby Ford, A Guy Called Gerald, Bizarre Inc and Andrew Weatherall alongside lesser known names. The accompanying press release has Sen stating that the forthcoming compilation “features many personal favourites and the tracks were particularly inspirational to me as a DJ and clubber at the time”.

Strut Records will release Richard Sen Presents: This Ain’t Chicago: The Sound Of Underground UK House & Acid 1987-1991 across Double CD, Double LP and digital formats on June 25.

CD Tracklisting:


1. Bang The Party – Bang Bang You’re Mine (Full Vocal Remix)
2. Window Smashers – Free To Be
3. Julian Jonah – Jealousy And Lies
4. Baby Ford – Crashing
5. Man With No Name – From Within The Mind Of My 909
6. Rio Rhythm Band – Cuba Jakkin’
7. Playtime Toons – Shaker Song
8. Jail Break – Mentality
9. Exocet – Safety Zone
10. Return Of The Living Acid – Twin Tub
11. Cxx – The Comfort Of Strangers (Mix By Rhythm Doctor – Richard Sen Edit)
12. Julie Stapleton – Where’s The Love Gone (Remix)
13. Rohan Delano – Inflight


1. Sly And Lovechild – The World According To Sly & Lovechild (Andrew Weatherall Soul Of Europe Mix)
2. Ability Ii – Pressure Dub
3. Static – Iron Orbit (J. Saul Kane Mix)
4. M. D. Emm – 1666 (Pyro-Maniac Mix)
5. Colm Iii – Take Me High (Mansion Mix)
6. S.L.F. – Show Me What You Got
7. Paul Rutherford – Get Real (Happy House Mix)
8. Bizzare Inc – Technological
9. Us – Born In The North
10. Annette – Dream 17

Digital only:

A Guy Called Gerald – Specific Hate
This Ain’t Chicago – Ride The Rhythm