Listen: We Acediasts – Hana

DFA are on the cusp of releasing the self titled album from We Acediasts, a group formed around Invisible Conga People’s Justin Simon that’s been sitting unreleased for some eleven years.

We Acediasts was established by Simon along with three friends during a four year stay in Tokyo. The album was recorded at the DFA Studios back in 2001 with the intention of being released on James Murphy’s label, however the group disbanded shortly afterwards and the LP has remained in limbo until now.

Released in conjunction with Mesh Key, the label specialising in wierd Japanese music that Simon runs (and talked about in the Invisible Conga People podcast completed for us last year), the seven track LP certainly fits this description on the basis of the epic twelve minute long, strung out art rock jam “Hana”, that closes We Acediasts.