XLR8R Mix: Floating Points

Sam Shepherd aka Floating Points has shown his love for Plastic People by devoting his new XLR8R mix to the endangered East London nightspot.

He’s following in the footsteps of Four Tet, who handed out mixtapes called “Much Love To The Plastic People” during his recent residency at the Curtain Rd hotspot, and even titled a track on his new album Plastic People.

As you may well know, the iconic club is under threat from closure, although recently impoved security measures at the club suggest it has a future after all.

The mix itself shows a different side to Shepherd, who fuses old school funk and jazz into some modern day james like his own “Shark Chase” and Kyle Hall’s remix to Darkstar’s “Aidy’s Girl Is A Computer”. Pop over to XLR8R and download or stream it now.


1. Flora Purim “Encounters” (Milestone)
2. Deniece Williams “Slip Away” (Columbia)
3. Esther Philips “Home Is Where the Hatred Is” (KUDU)
4. Windy City “(So You Think) Somethin’s Missin'” (Chi Sound)
5. James Brown “Mind Power” (Polydor)
6. Gil Scott-Heron “Lady Day and John Coltrane” (Flying Dutchman)
7. Brian Auger & Oblivion Express “Whenever You’re Ready” (RCA)
8. Willie Bobo “Sixty-Two Fifty” (Columbia)
9. Chick Corea & Return to Forever “Captain Marvel” (Polydor)
10. Kuniyuki “Precious Hall (Dub)” (Natural Resource)
11. Larry Heard “Missing You” (Track Mode)
12. Herbert “Suddenly” (Studio !K7)
13. Darkstar “Aidy’s Girl Is a Computer (Kyle Hall Oats B So Deep Remix)” (Hyperdub)
14. Floating Points “Shark Chase” (Eglo)
15. Pharoah Sanders “Greeting To Saud (Brother McCoy Tyner)” (Impulse)