Juno Daily

Music and tech news, interviews, features, reviews and more.

Visit Juno Daily

100% Secure Shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Secure Shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

This Week: Roots/Lovers Rock

Home  This Week  

Roots / Lovers Rock

Items 1 to 13 of 13 on page 1 of 1
Subscribe to our weekly Roots/Lovers Rock emails
De Coracao
De Coracao (numbered translucent green vinyl 7" limited to 300 copies)
Cat: HMA 008 7. Rel: 22 Feb 21
  1. De Coracao (3:57)
  2. Outro Lugar (4:30)
Review: According to Discogs, this is the first ever release from Arthur Freestyle, but it could just as well be the sound of some overlooked MPB star from back in the day. He delivers his gentle rhythms over a lazy, reggae tinged beat tinged with sunshine and Latin flair, and overload with simple but effective keys and a female accompaniment. It's hard not to fall for this one. Flip it over for 'Outro Lugar,' a Brazilian take on slow motion hip hip crossed with deep loves rock that is as good as it sounds on paper.
Read more
 in stock $22.27
What Them A Do (reissue)
Cat: RCK 012. Rel: 23 Feb 21
  1. What Them A Do (4:18)
  2. Jah Jah Dub (4:18)
 in stock $12.44
Suffer's Child
Cat: OR 123. Rel: 23 Feb 21
  1. Delroy Denton - "Suffer's Child" (2:43)
  2. Sky Nation - "Suffer's Version" (2:51)
Review: Silvertones vocalist Delroy Denton laid down some real rootsy heat with this one way back in 1975. His vulnerable vocals and heartfelt ad clubs really get you in a sweet spot as the party ridders rumble along in earthy fashion. It's a timeless cut that is perfect for big systems and warmer climes. On the flip, as you'd expect, is a filter heavy dub from Sky Nation that will twist your melon inside out and back again. Sweeping in and out with filters, the original is smeared and stretched to make for a whole new vibe that is just as crucial.
Read more
 in stock $11.29
Realize (12")
Cat: TD 1201. Rel: 23 Feb 21
  1. Realize (4:14)
  2. Realize (version) (4:14)
 in stock $17.34
Too Long
  1. Joshua Hales - "Too Long" (3:43)
  2. Shere Khan meets Dougie Conscious - "Too Long" (dub) (3:35)
  3. Haroon Ayyaz - "Equal Rights" (3:41)
  4. Shere Khan meets Dougie Conscious - "Equal Rights" (Dubwise) (3:41)
 in stock $13.30
The Great Pretender
  1. The Great Pretender (3:54)
  2. Bongo Dashie Dub (3:56)
  3. Deep (3:58)
  4. Deep (dub) (3:57)
 in stock $14.76
Kailen (7")
Cat: OBOR 009. Rel: 22 Feb 21
  1. Kailen (3:41)
  2. Kailen (version) (3:32)
 in stock $15.33
Crazy World
Cat: ABM 016. Rel: 22 Feb 21
  1. Crazy World (3:38)
  2. Crazy Dub (3:33)
! low stock $10.12
The Journey
Cat: AGOBUN 1202. Rel: 22 Feb 21
  1. The Journey (3:21)
  2. Dub (3:21)
  3. Up In The Sky (3:12)
  4. Version (3:14)
 in stock $16.19
Dub Conqueror (remixes)
Cat: PSTI 039. Rel: 23 Feb 21
  1. Dub Conqueror (part 1 - Martin Harrison mix) (6:38)
  2. Dub Conqueror (part 2 - Paolo Baldini dubfiles remix) (3:50)
  3. Dub Conqueror (part 3 - Paolo Baldini dubfiles remix) (4:31)
Review: Martin Harrison worked with legends like This Heat and On u Sound as well as many other vocal dub practitioners. Here he offers up a pair of longer stepping mixes of Yabby You and They Prophets' 'Dub Conqueror.' it is tune that may be familiar to dub techno fans as having been reworked by Steve O'Sullivan into a brilliantly heady groove. On the flip, the same tune gets treated by Paolo Baldini with a 'Dubfiles' remix and he slows things down, before freaking you out with plenty of mad mixing tricks and effects.
Read more
 in stock $16.50
Love At First Sight (reissue)
Love At First Sight (reissue) (180 gram vinyl LP)
Cat: BSRLP 936. Rel: 24 Feb 21
  1. First Sight Love (3:58)
  2. Tease My Love (3:28)
  3. Beautiful Music (2:57)
  4. Work Man Song (2:51)
  5. Love Jah So (4:09)
  6. Sweet Sweet Love (3:44)
  7. Death Angels (3:21)
  8. No Competition (3:28)
  9. Run Satan Out (3:24)
 in stock $15.91
Roots Man Dub
Cat: ORLP 23. Rel: 23 Feb 21
  1. Dub On The Track (4:06)
  2. Macaback Rock (3:22)
  3. Ital Collie (3:16)
  4. Herb Man Skank (3:12)
  5. Heartical (dub) (3:26)
  6. Let Dub Abide (3:31)
  7. Black Star (dub) (2:56)
  8. Roots Man (dub) (3:48)
  9. Runaway (dub) (3:21)
  10. Iron Gate (3:16)
  11. Rockers (dub) (2:11)
  12. Over Africa (3:35)
Review: The Roots Man Dub album was originally released in 1978 on Hit, a label from the GG Records crew. It features a ton of superb dubs by Alvin Ranglin, who flipped versions of tunes by The Maytones, Al Brown, The Starlights and many more besides into sonic wonders for mind, body and soul. This compilation pulls them all together again and results in plenty of indisputable sonic fire for when the warmer months come, we laze about in the garden and partake in a toke or two.
Read more
 in stock $22.57
Conquering Lion (Expanded Edition)
  1. Run Come Rally (3:17)
  2. Jah Vengeance (2:48)
  3. Conquering Lion (3:25)
  4. Covetous Men (2:58)
  5. Anti Christ (2:39)
  6. Carnal Mind (3:05)
  7. Jah Love (2:26)
  8. Love Thy Neighbour (3:33)
  9. Love Of Jah (3:04)
  10. The Man Who Does The Work (2:42)
  11. Rally Dub (3:18)
  12. Tubby's Vengeance (2:59)
  13. Conquering Dub (3:16)
  14. Big Youth Fights Against Capitalist (3:06)
  15. Anti Christ Rock (2:53)
  16. Jah Love (dub) (3:08)
  17. Warning (version) (3:01)
  18. Love Thy Neighbour (version) (3:31)
  19. Love Of Jah (version) (2:58)
  20. Work Without Pay (dub) (2:40)
Review: Pressure Sounds latest essential reissue breathes new life into Yabby You and the Prophets' brilliant 1975 album Conquering Lion, an early roots reggae gem that has long been a favourite of knowledgeable reggae heads. The first record naturally showcases the original EP, offering us a chance to savour such classics as 'Run Come Rally', the intoxicating and pitched-down brilliance of 'Conquering Lion' and the shoulder-swinging skank of 'Jah Love'. The second record, meanwhile, gathers together rare dubs, versions and alternate takes not featured on the original LP. It's almost worth buying the reissue for this alone; 'Tubby's Vengeance', 'Anti Christ Rock' and 'Warning (Dub)', in particular, are spectacularly good.
Read more
 in stock $25.18
Items 1 to 13 of 13 on page 1 of 1


This Week: Roots/Lovers Rock