Secure shopping 100% Secure Shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

Secure shopping 100% Secure Shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.Visit Juno DJ


International Soundclash

Format: unmixed CD
Cat: STRUT 097CD
Released: 19 Jul 12
Genre: Funk
Side 1
1. Lord Shorty & Vibrations International - "Vibrations Groove"
2. La Pesada - "Cumbia Y Tambo (En La Lluvia)"
3. Midnight Groover - "O Ti Yo"
4. Les Difficiles De Petion-Ville - "Fe'm Confiance" (Tropical Treats edit)
5. Owiny Sigoma Band - "Nabed Nade Ei Piny Ka F"
6. Mas Ka Kle - "Lese yo Pale"
7. Kiland Et L'Orchestre Mabatalai - "Pour Chercher Le Magot"
8. Bell'a Njoh - "Ebolo"
9. Concept Neuf - "The Path" (Sofrito edit)
10. Grupo Canalon - "La Zorra Y El Perol"
11. Les Vikings - "Ambiance" (Guhe Huiamo)
12. Sartana Et Son Groupe Mistral - "Information Par Le Mistral"
13. Luis Kalaff Y Sus Alegres Dominicanos - "Agarralo Que Eso Es Tuyo"
14. Afro Festival led by Fantastic Tchico Tchicaya - "El Manicero"
15. Melodica Teens Band - "Mwekuru Muthao"
 Add to Wishlist e-mail me when available
Out of stock $13.30

While re-issue specialists such as Harmless, Far Out, Strut or Mr Bongo enjoy a respectable following thanks to their long-established nature and strong track record, very few new labels rooted in the world of global rhythms have managed to make waves outside of the dusty-fingered world of record collecting. Since launching at the tail end of the noughties, the London based club night and label Sofrito have joined this select group. Focused primarily on 12" singles, often boasting new re-edits of little-known afro-disco, calypso or tropical gems, the label overseen by Hugo Mendez and Frankie Francis has tickled the fancy of a wide range of DJs. Here, they return to Strut - regular employers of Francis for his formidable re-mastering and engineering skills - for a second compilation. Whereas the first, 2011's Tropical Discotheque, had a distinctly tropical theme, Sofrito International Soundclash takes a more wide-ranging approach. The results are predictably enjoyable and deliciously heavy. Opening with the classic Soca of Lord Shorty & Vibrations International, the compilation moves through styles of pan continental music both past and present at a furious rate. There's some contemporary Kenyan beats with London/Nairobi collective Owiny Sigoma Band presenting a new version of "Nabed Nade El Piny Ka", a highlight from their 2011 debut for Brownswood, while the booming "Information Par Le Mistral" from Sartana et Son Groupe Mistral brings a taste of heavily-percussive gwo-ka. Sofrito's own editing skills with beautiful calypso rhythms are showcased with a reworking of Concept Neuf's 1979 cover of jazz-fusion mainstay "The Path," while Afro Festival bring some joyous but unlikely fusion sounds. Aside from the enthusiasts that gather at Sofrito parties in London and beyond, where many of these tracks are dancefloor staples, few will know much about many of these styles of music, let alone the artists who make them. But that's the point: through International Soundclash, the Sofrito crew is opening our eyes and ears to brilliant sounds we never knew existed.

What do you think of this release? Write a review in the Facebook comments box below:

What do you think of this release?

Tell us what you think in the Facebook comments box below:

100% Secure Shopping 100% Secure Shopping

Visa Mastercard Maestro Paypal