100% Secure Shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Secure Shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.Visit Juno DJ


Sources: The P&P Records Funk & Rap Anthology

Format: unmixed 3xCD
Cat: HURTXCD 138
Released: 11 Sep 15
Genre: Funk
Side 1
1. Queen Yahna - "Ain't It Time" (original club 12" mix)
2. Sons Of Darkness - "Black Ice" (original 7" mix)
3. Wild Honey - "I've Been Working" (original 7" mix)
4. Eddie Owen - "Shake Off The Dream" (original 7" mix)
5. Florence Miller - "The Groove I'm In" (original 7" mix)
6. Ella Hamilton - "Here's To You" (original club 12" mix)
7. Scott Davis & The Movements - "NY Applejack" (original album version)
8. Otis Turner - "Who's Gonna" (original album version)
9. Florence Miller - "I'm Coming Back To Life Again" (original 7" mix)
10. Henry Brooks - "The Greatest Debt To My Mother" (original 7" mix)
11. Sentimental Souls - "It's Party Time With Getting In The Groove Part 2" (original 7" mix)
12. Smokie Brook - "Long Time Ago (But I Wish Today Was Yesterday)" (original 7" mix)
13. Scott Davis & The Movements - "Freaktime" (original club 12" mix)
14. Florence Miller - "I Believe In Love" (original 7" mix)
15. Otis Turner & The Mighty Kingpins - "Do The Funky Donkey" (original 7" mix)
16. Foster Jackson Group - "Feel The Spirit" (original club 12" mix)
17. Wayne Forde & Stereo - "Dance To The Music Freakout" (original club 12" mix)
18. Margie Lomax - "God's Greatest Gift To Man Is Woman" (original club 12" mix)
Side 2
1. Sherod - "School'n (Put Your Mind To The Message)" (original club 12" mix)
2. Family - "Family Rap" (original club 12" mix)
3. Troy Rainey - "Tricky Tee Rap" (original club 12" mix)
4. Spoonin G - "Spoonin Rap" (original club 12" mix)
5. Margo's Kool Out Crew - "Death Rap" (original club 12" mix)
6. Lavaba & E Mallison - "A Game Of Life" (original club 12" mix)
7. Sweet G - "Boogie Feelin' Rap" (original club 12" mix)
8. Scoopy - "Scoopy Rap" (original club 12" mix)
9. Willie Wood & The Willie Wood Crew - "Willie Rap" (original club 12" mix)
10. Fly Guy - "Fly Guy Rap" (original club 12" mix)
11. Mistafide - "Equidity Funk" (original club 12" mix)
Side 3
1. Shift - "Roller Rink Funk" (original club 12" mix)
2. Brisko The Kidd - "Big Foot Boogie" (original club 12" mix)
3. Super Coper & Clarence Breakers - "This Is The Way You Do The Breakdance" (original club 12" mix)
4. MC Rock Lovely - "One Time Two Time Blow Your Mind" (original club 12" mix)
5. Stack - "Win Jesse Win" (original club 12" mix)
6. Naomi Peterson - "Sweet Naomi Rap" (original club 12" mix)
7. CC Crew - "CC Crew Rap" (original club 12" mix)
8. Fresh Female - "Roller Rooster Rap Dance" (original club 12" mix)
9. The Imperial Three - "It's Rough" (original club 12" mix)
10. Two Hype - "Hip Shaker" (original club 12" mix)
11. Little Starski - "Gangster Rock" (original club 12" mix)
12. Mr Fox - "Smooth Talk" (original club 12" mix)
13. Little Scotty - "Shout At The Disco" (original club 12" mix)
 Add to Wishlist e-mail me when available
Out of stock $11.57
Shop more: Funk | Bill BREWSTER/VARIOUS | Harmless

Patrick Adams and Peter Brown's P&P Records imprint has long been regarded as one of the disco-era's finest labels. While the soul and disco side of the label's output has been celebrated plenty of times, less attention has been paid to their funk and rap credentials. Here, Bill Brewster - whose recent trawl through P&P's soul and disco catalogue was rather good - aims to put the record straight over three action-packed discs. Due to the nature of the material, there are few well-known cuts - Spoonie G's early rap bomb "Spoonie Rap" excepted - but plenty of thrilling obscurities, from the Jimi Hendrix-goes-funk madness of Wild Honey's "I've Been Working", and the extended dancefloor workout that is Scott Davis & The Movements' "Freaktime", to stripped-back pioneering rap bombs from Fly Guy, Little Starski and Sweet G.

What do you think of this release? Write a review in the Facebook comments box below:

What do you think of this release?

Tell us what you think in the Facebook comments box below:

100% Secure Shopping