Juno Daily

Music and tech news, interviews, features, reviews and more.

Visit Juno Daily

100% Secure Shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Secure Shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ


Home  Labels  


Items 1 to 8 of 8 on page 1 of 1
Apron EP
Apron EP (12" repress)
Cat: APRON 42. Rel: 12 Apr 21
Deep House
  1. Dr Robotnik (feat MDMA) (4:23)
  2. Girls Girls Girls (4:31)
  3. Lets Go (Sunshine) (5:17)
  4. End Of Time (4:21)
  5. Fun Fun Fun (feat Brandon Banks) (4:39)
  6. I Want To Go (5:04)
  7. Dr Funk Yo Mind (3:57)
  8. Astrotron (6:16)
Review: Atalanta's Byron The Aquarius has established himself as one of electronic music's most interesting artists. The super skill musician is a virtuoso on the keys and dab hand with making beats. He's got a wide range of sounds in his arsenal and is a perfect fit for the raw, MPC loving Apron label run by Funkineven, which is where lands now. This fulsome EP takes you on a jazz tinged house trip to the edges of the galaxy with far-sighted chords and reflective moods one minute and noodling, funk laced beat pieces the next. It's as high in quality as it is timeless.
Read more
 in stock $19.02
Earth State
Earth State (heavyweight vinyl 12")
Cat: APRON 39. Rel: 30 Jul 19
  1. Dry Mango (part 1) (1:23)
  2. Thursday (4:32)
  3. Oceans (4:14)
  4. Earth State (1:51)
  5. Syntherlude (0:53)
  6. Pace & Time (3:38)
  7. Dry Mango (part 2) (3:33)
Review: It's always good to see a split release from two artists whose track records (no pun intended) make it very difficult to predict where the new wares will fit. Which is exactly the case with this one, given K15's oeuvre name-checks imprints like Wotnot Music, Eglo and Wild Oats, while SMDB has appeared on Funkineven's Apron and the always great Lo Recordings in recent years. Needless to say, then, if we can rely on one thing it's that everything on this expansive, obscure collection of curveballs will be deep and richly textured. From 'Pace & Time''s downtempo barroom jazz, to the shuffling broken beats and waves of synth on 'Dry Mango (Part 2)', the confusing beat structures and delicate piano play of 'Earth State' to 'Syntherlude''s beat-less, science fiction tune up, it's all well made stuff.
Read more
 in stock $12.11
A17 (7")
Cat: APRON 17. Rel: 11 Aug 20
  1. Mighty Baron III - "Screwe'd" (3:34)
  2. Sun Runners - "The Finest" (4:14)
Review: The latest audio missive from Funkineven's Apron camp has been receiving a lot of heat, and it's easy to see why. In typical style, both tracks take classic boogie and '80s soul jams, impressively mangling them in distinctly different ways. Mighty Baron III's "Screwed" is a "chopped and screwed" masterpiece - a fusion of sludgy, slowed-down electrfunk loops, pitched-down vocals and wonky beatbox rhythms. It's distinctively odd, but really rather special. Flip for the Sun Runners' "The Finest", a smart and melodious S.O.S Band re-edit that's been pepped up with additional drum machine hits and special effects. It will do the business on both boogie and R&B dancefloors.
Read more
 in stock $12.67
What The Future Was
Cat: APRON 40. Rel: 24 Sep 19
  1. Aevea Forest (2:57)
  2. Ember (5:13)
  3. Entity (3:43)
  4. Her Theme (1:36)
  5. Purity (5:17)
  6. The Pneuma (4:47)
Review: FunkinEven's Apron label rarely, if ever, puts a foot wrong, whether putting out ragged techno, raw hip hop or whatever in between. It is Molinaro who steps up now after first landing on the label back in December 2017. The NTS host has long been a firm part of the London underground and has a lo-fi, frazzled sound that blurs the lines between a number of different genres. Here he offers spaced out and grizzled drum tracks, unsettling machine-made ambience and rough and ready beatdown that Theo Parrish would admire. It's been a long wait since his last release, but this EP was well worth it.
Read more
 in stock $10.09
Dreem Static
Cat: APRON 43. Rel: 13 Apr 21
Deep House
  1. Mirage (4:48)
  2. Binary Starr (5:26)
  3. Idreamtaboutuagainlastnite (2:18)
  4. Mystery (feat Shepherd) (5:03)
  5. Uncanny Valley (3:08)
  6. Latent Heat (7:40)
  7. Dinner With Angela (5:01)
  8. City Of Dreems (7:29)
Review: Following releases for Couch Acid and Hot Shit Sounds, the enigmatic J. Quaid appears for Steven Julien's Apron imprint on his third long player titled Dreem Static - taking you on a machine-funk odyssey to inner space. From the p-funk inspired opener "Mirage", the dark patterns of dystopian electro epic 'Binary Starr', to some impressive drum programming on the evocative house journey 'Latent Heat' and ending with the slo-mo, neon-lit nite moves of 'City Of Dreams' complete with the metallic shimmer of FM synthesis.
Read more
 in stock $16.13
A16 (12")
Cat: APRON 16. Rel: 19 Aug 15
  1. Institute (4:56)
  2. Evenbud (feat Budgie) (4:34)
  3. Pulse (4:37)
  4. Luv Triangle (3:53)
Review: Pow! Some new St. Julien heat on Apron!!! The debut St. Julien release from FunkinEven arrived out of nowhere on Apron in January last year and was for us a real highlight of the label's 2014 output - no mean feat given they also put out records from Seven Davis Jr. and Jay Daniel. Deviating into gloopy EBM and primitive electronics, the self-titled three-track 12? suggested St. Julien was an outlet for FunkinEven to explore more esoteric ideas away from his more established main production handle. A16 is the long-delayed follow up and sees St Julien collaborating with LA producer Budgie on the redlining boogie of "Evenbud" but our personal favourite has got to be "Institute". This one could easily pass for a Das Ding cut!
Read more
 in stock $10.36
Joy Of Missing Out
Joy Of Missing Out (limited cassette)
Cat: AC 05. Rel: 18 Feb 20
  1. Sozinho A Noite (2:31)
  2. Bola De Neve (4:17)
  3. Looking Back (4:03)
  4. All I Want (2:55)
  5. Driving To The Sun (3:14)
  6. Azy (2:16)
  7. Hobart (5:20)
  8. Travel (2:04)
  9. Jazz Da XV (6:02)
  10. Welcome Stranger (2:55)
  11. Phobia (2:17)
  12. Brasilidade (5:11)
  13. Look At Me (3:18)
  14. Tesourinha (1:17)
  15. Praia (2:52)
  16. Vision (1:51)
  17. Locked (2:35)
Played by: Secretsundaze
 in stock $14.42
Universo (LP)
Cat: APRON 44. Rel: 12 Apr 21
Deep House
  1. Process Of Change (4:05)
  2. Back In Tha Game (5:27)
  3. Cidade Jovem (5:28)
  4. Fire Pit (6:15)
  5. City Heart (3:35)
  6. Cruisin' (5:41)
  7. Funny Game (4:12)
  8. Universo (Steven Julien edit) (7:57)
Review: Brazilian DJ and producer Pedro Zopelar's sound is a perfect fit for Apron. It's proudly analogue and rough around the edges, with lo-bitrate synth feels that at once take you back to the 80s while also somehow surging into the cosmos. This sunny record takes in slick electro, stylish boogie a la Dam Funk and brisling beat tracks that are flashed with acid and twanging slap bass. There is an irrepressible sense of late night funk to 'Cruisin', body popping breaks on 'Cidade Jovem' and on standout track 'Back In Tha Game' you glide on tinny cowbells and rickety beats that you hope will never end.
Read more
 in stock $19.59
Items 1 to 8 of 8 on page 1 of 1


Release Date