Juno Daily

Music and tech news, interviews, features, reviews and more.

Visit Juno Daily

100% Secure Shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Secure Shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices. Visit Juno DJ

vinyl bestsellers
My Language
My Currency
Your wishlist is empty
Items in wishlist:
Recently added:
Your cart is empty
:
Recently added:
View cart
Home  Labels  Africa Seven
Receive new release alerts for Africa Seven


Africa Seven Vinyl & CDs

Browse the latest Vinyl & CD releases on Africa Seven
Similar labels:
Items 1 to 7 of 7 on page 1 of 1
African Experimentals 1972-1979
Cat: ASVN 068. Rel: 25 Oct 18
Jokenge (3:08)
Push Am Forward (3:39)
Mr Who You Be (5:11)
Gowa (3:24)
Sonjo (4:03)
Money Palava (4:42)
Dem Kick (6:11)
Money Nor Bataya (6:15)
Mother In Law (4:41)
Review: After forming from the ashes of a lauded jazz group in 1972, Sierra Leone's Afro National went on to release countless killer singles and albums that effortlessly joined the dots between jazz, highlife, funk and more traditional West African sounds. Here, the laudable Africa Seven label celebrates the band's legacy not by gathering together their most famous tracks, but rather cuts with the most insatiable dancefloor chops. The hits come thick and fast, from the punchy Afrobeat/highlife fusion of opener "Jokenge" and the rolling, low-slung goodness of "Mr Who You Be", to the jaunty, celebratory brilliance of the Juju-influenced "Sonjo" and fuzzy sweetness of the compilation's closing track, "Mother In Law" (which, incidentally, is far more enjoyable than any weekend visit from the in-laws).
Read more
Tags: Afrobeat | Highlife | Afro Funk
 in stock $19.52
Funky Disco Music
Cat: ASVN 052. Rel: 15 Feb 18
Funky Disco Music (4:12)
Ndolo Embe Mulema (6:07)
Une Chanson Sans Paroles (4:41)
Bowa'a Mba Ngebe (3:31)
Doi Da Manga (3:16)
Me To A De Try My Own (7:52)
Esele Mba Musango Na Ndol'am (3:43)
Emen Ango (6:17)
Review: A veritable French fusion institution; classically trained Cameroon musician Eko Roosevelt Louis was responsible for a catalogue of exciting jazz funk, disco and afrofunk records throughout the 70s and remained active touring Europe until the 90s when he returned to Cameroon to inherit the role as tribal chieftain from his grandfather. Released in 1979, Funky Disco Music was his third album and packs some of his most powerful compositions. The triumphant title track says it all; laidback, charming and full of positivity it sets the scene for the whole trip. Highlights include the rock-tinged soul chugger "Une Chanson Sans Paroles", the highlife uplift of "Doi Da Manga" and the smouldering showstopper finale "Emen Ango". Dig deep and enjoy... Africa Seven promise more Eko reissues in the near future.
Read more
 in stock $19.52
African Funk Instrumentals 1977-1979
Cat: ASVN 058. Rel: 29 Mar 18
Douala By Night (3:10)
Funky Bafoussam (3:26)
More & More (5:34)
Love Is Light (3:33)
Aie (4:41)
Not So Bad (3:49)
I Love Yaounde (4:00)
Eda (3:47)
Funky Boogie Love (3:15)
Eya Mba (7:46)
Review: Between the mid 1970s and the late 1980s, Cameroonian duo J.M Tim and Foty recorded a string of killer Afro-funk albums. This superb compilation from Africa Seven shines a light on the best of the duo's early work, with each of the ten tracks recorded between 1977 and '79. There's much to set the pulse racing throughout, from the crunchy Clavinets, punchy horns and heavy grooves of opener "Douala By Night" and the rubbery disco-funk of "More and More", to the swirling, celebratory vocals, sun-kissed guitars and dazzling analogue synth solos of "Ale". Elsewhere, check the Bee Gees-in-Cameroon flex of "Funky Boogie Love" and "I Love Youande", a breezy affair with a touch of country-funk swing and an a sublime bass guitar riff.
Read more
 in stock $19.52
We The People
Cat: ASVN 027. Rel: 11 Jan 18
More Sekele Movement (Papa Ni Mama) (4:05)
Dora (7:53)
Watcha Get Ma Day Dreams (6:14)
Sekelimania (Nku Bilam) (3:46)
The Sekele Movement (6:28)
As Far I Can Remember (6:23)
Review: Having previously reissued Pasteur Lappe's sought-after 1979 sophomore set, No Man Pass Man, the crew behind the Africa Seven label has turned its attention to the Cameroonian artist's similarly impressive debut, We The People. It's a vibrant and hugely entertaining six-track set, with Lappe offering up a range of dancefloor-ready cuts that variously touch on heavy Afro-disco ("More Sekele Movement (Papa Ni Mama)"), horn-heavy tropical funk ("Dora"), saccharine English language ballads ("Watcha Get Ma Day Dreams"), thrusting disco-funk righteousness (Clav-happy smasher "Sekelimania (Nku Bilam)" and "The Sekele Movement") and laidback, Steely Dan style West Coast jazz-rock ("As Far As I Can Remember").
Read more
 in stock $17.67
Africa Airways Five: Brace Brace Boogie 1976-1982
Cat: ASVN 050. Rel: 14 Feb 19
Black Bells Group - "Sweet Sidney" (edit) (4:12)
Charly Kingson - "Nanga 'Boko" (4:17)
Gyedu Blay Ambolley - "Highlife" (4:59)
Dikalo - "Fine Biscuits" (2:45)
Mekongo President - "Angona Mana" (4:04)
Fotso - "French Girl" (3:27)
Tala AM - "Sugar Lump" (edit) (5:01)
JK Mandengue - "Chibidaba, Chibidaba" (2:55)
Jide Obe - "Too Young" (5:13)
Mulamba - "Dashiki" (version instrumentale) (3:07)
Review: There's a slightly different feel to the latest instalment of the fantastic "Africa Airways" compilation series. While previous instalments have largely focused on heavy Afro-funk and Afro-soul, this fifth edition showcases material recorded during the disco and boogie era (1976-82). The ten included tracks are superb, with highlights including the fuzzy, Clavinet-driven thrills of "Sweet Sidney (Edit)" by Black Bells Group, the heavy grooves and dancing synth lines of Gyedu Blay Ambolley's "Highlife", the spacey Afro-boogie badness of Fotso's "French Girl" and the flash-fried disco-funk celebration that is Jide Obe's spacey, Moog-sporting "Too Young". As the old cliche goes, this is all killer and no filler.
Read more
 in stock $19.52
Africa Airways Six: Mile High African Funk 1974-1981
Cat: ASVN 060. Rel: 21 May 20
Eko - "Ndolo Embe Mulema" (4:54)
JM Tim & Foty - "More & More (Ye Male)" (3:57)
Ngalle Jojo - "Ngigna Loko" (3:03)
Jude Bondeze - "Ndomo" (4:58)
Vicky Edimo - "You" (5:03)
JK Mandengue - "Kosa Mbe" (2:58)
Akwassa - "Be Yourself (& Don't Let Nobody)" (5:17)
Mike Kounou - "My Native Land" (3:48)
Airto Fogo - "Black Soul" (2:57)
Francois Misse Ngoh - "Njonjo Mukambe" (4:49)
Review: For their latest flight on "Africa Airways", the Africa Seven collective has decided to treat us to some in-flight "Mile High Funk", all of which was recorded between 1974 and 1981. In practise, that means a mixture of disco-funk, boogie, Blaxploitation-style heaviness, Afro-disco and slap-bass-propelled goodness from across the African continent. Highlights are plentiful, with our picks including the Hammond-sporting heaviness of Akwassa's "Be Yourself (& Don't Let Nobody)", the synth-sporting highlife style revelry that is Eko's "Ndolo Embe Mulema" and the horn-heavy voodoo funk-soul cheeriness of Jude Bondeze's "Ndomo".
Read more
 in stock $16.62
Afro Exotique 2: Further Adventures In The Leftfield Africa 1975-87
Cat: ASVN 066. Rel: 18 May 23
Afrocult Foundation - "The Quest" (Piano Solo)
Orchestre Lipua Lipua - "Distingue 1" (edit)
BG & Fibre - "(G#) Thanks & Praises"
Akwassa - "I Dont Want No-Body (To Tell Me)"
Aura - "I Got To Make It"
Akofa Akoussah - "Ramer Sans Rame"
Francis Bebey - "La Condition Masculine"
Benis Cletin - "Jungle Magic"
Sorry Bamba - "M'Bife Je T'Aime"
Gregoire Lawani - "Elle Ma Mordu La Langue"
 in stock $22.68
Items 1 to 7 of 7 on page 1 of 1
Cart subtotal: