Lux Rec explores The Dying Lights

The Zurich label will issue its first compilation in March, featuring tracks from Echo 106, Drvg Cvltvre, Villa Abo and more.

The release of Helena Hauff’s excellent Shatter Cone EP probably alerted many people to the work of Lux Rec, but the Zurich label has been quietly building up a respectable discography over the past five years. Focusing on “the roots of dance music exploring elements from the early electronic scene”, Lux Rec founders Daniele Cosmo and Faber have issued music from the likes of Jared Wilson, D’Marc Cantu, and R-A-G (Aroy Dee, Ma Spaventi, and Gstring) as well as shining a light on lesser known talent like CCO, Stefan Blomeier, Cold Colours, and Lunar Lodge.

Previous Lux Rec releases from Murphy Jax, Jori Hulkkonen and Alessandro Parisi on the label have been heavily conceptual, so it’s little surprise that the label’s first compilation possesses a very specific central theme. As RA reports, The Dying Lights is naturally based around the concept of light with Cosmo telling the site all the track titles have been chosen around its perception, “starting from very light to very black.” Cosmo himself contributes on a track with Luciano Lamanna – which you can stream below – whilst label regulars CCO, and Echo 106 also feature. Further contributions come from Börft Records boss Jan Svensson under his recently revived Villa Åbo guise, Drvg Cvltvre, and Uncanny Valley artist Sneaker.

Lux Rec will release The Dying Lights in March 2015.


A1. Villa Abo – Luminous
A2. CCO – Pale Distant Lights
B1. Juanpablo & Sneaker – A New Obscurity
C1. Drvg Cvltvre – Endless Night
C2. Echo 106 – Blackness
D1. Luciano Lamanna & Daniele Cosmo – The Darkest Hour