Secure shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

Secure shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Secure shopping

Vinyl & CDs

The world's largest dance music store featuring the most comprehensive selection of new and back catalogue dance music Vinyl and CDs online.  Visit Juno Records

Dark Entries reissue Crash Course in Science, Lassigue Bendthaus and Psyche

The next batch of reissues from the San Francisco label take in post punk, electro-industrial project and synthpop acts from the past.

It’s fair to say that Dark Entries had a particularly impressive year in 2013, commencing with The Thing From The Crypt, a compilation of DIY synth and new wave from the UK and ending it with Patrick Cowley’s School Daze. That expansive retrospective of gay porn soundtrack music from the hi-NRG producer was one of last year’s best reissues and inbetween these two releases, Dark Entries issued a fairly overwhelming 17 other records. This relentless scheduling has spilled over into the new year with the launch of a dancefloor focused Editions series that was inaugurated with the Maritime Tatami single from ’80s Italian synth act Victrola. Despite putting out another two records this month, from Le Travo and Big Ben Tribe, the label have revealed details of another three reissues to arrive in early March.

The first is from post punk band Crash Course In Science, a Philadelphia-based trio (pictured above) whose crude electronics and synthesised beats is most widely known through “Flying Turns”. The track featured on the Minimal Wave Tapes Vol. 1 compilation curated by Peanut Butter Wolf and Veronica Vasicka and has been reworked by Jamal Moss, J Rocc and Ricky Villalobos in recent years. This classic track features on Signals From Pier Thirteen EP, originally released in 1981 and described by the label as possessing a “strong connection” to Throbbing Gristle. The forthcoming Dark Entries edition is the first time the EP has been reissued on vinyl since the mid ’80s and is set arrive replete with original artwork and a double sided 11×11 insert with lyrics, photos of the band and the titular pier.

The second reissue will be the Matter LP from Lassigue Bendthaus. An old musical project of Uwe Schmidt – the producer better known today as Atom™ – the record, which came out in 1991 is described as fitting somewhere between acid, techno, electro and EBM with songs that pay homage to Kraftwerk, and that approach the early industrial dance scene,” with a softer sequential approach than most of his contemporaries”. The reissue comprises the entire 1991 Matter LP, as well a bonus 7″ record containing 2 tracks never before released on vinyl.

Finally, Canadian outfit Psyche’s Re-Membering Dwayne LP will early sessions from the band. Better known as the duo of brothers Darrin and Stephen Huss, this LP features performances by early member Dwayne Goettel who died in 1995, and represents an early period in their career when their music was “visceral and abrasive, a far cry from the sleek, dark synthpop they’d later become known for”. The LP is fully remastered for vinyl and includes a 12-page booklet with excerpts from Darrin Huss’ diary, unpublished photos of Psyche with Goettel, and an essay by Darrin Huss reflecting on Psyche’s past.

All three of these reissues are due for release on the Dark Entries label on March 4.

Signals From Pier Thirteen tracklisting:

1. Cardboard Lamb
2. Crashing Song
3. Flying Turns
4. Factory Forehead

Matter tracklisting:

1. Automotive
2. Circulat (Hertz)
3. Transitory
4. Lanternslide
5. Mortal_Immortal
6. Rotation Mécanique
7. Velocity Life
8. Static
9. Inured (Pink Elln Mix)
10. Relate

Re-Membering Dwayne tracklisting:

1. Torture
2. Krieg
3. Eye Of The Hurricane
4. The Crawler Theme
5. Screaming Fire
6. The Crawler
7. Krieg (Dub)
8. Torture (Alternative Mix)