New Ensemble Skalectrik LP due on Editions Mego

Electronic experimentalist Nick Edwards will return to the Editions Mego label with a forthcoming album under the Ensemble Skalectrik name.

Most commonly known as Ekoplekz, Edwards has built up a formidable array of musical projects over the years, and had perhaps his most prolific calender year to date in 2012 emitting around a dozen cross format releases for esteemed labels such as Public Information, Further, Punch Drunk, Editions Mego and Mordant Music.

Due for release at the end of April, Trainwrekz marks the first release of the year for Edwards and the first album proper under the Ensemble Skalectrik alias after introducing it last year. The project debuted with the self released Snuff Mill Tapes Vol 1 collection of tracks last May and was followed by a homage to Maurizio Bianchi that was Split, a Feral Tapes released split cassette of Ekoplekz and Ensemble Skalectrik material.

Editions Mego reveal the forthcoming six track album is “a series of delirious, derailed sonic sketches” created from Edwards attacking a stack of old records with his turntables and an array of sound shaping devices such as filters, equalizers and loop-pedals. Recorded in three sessions in November of last year, the results are said to encompass “Chance, Drone, Dub, Hauntology, Musique Concrete and Free Improvisation”. Intriguingly, the album ends with a track dedicated to Louis Johnstone, more commonly known as the producer and caps lock Twitter personality WANDA GROUP.

Editons Mego will release Trainwrekz by Ensemble Skalectrik on April 29.


1.1. Wrekwahn
1.2. Wrektoo
1.3. Wrekfree
2.1. Wrekfore
2.2. Wreksan
2.3. Wreksikz (for Louis Johnstone)

Main photo: Alex Digard