Secure shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

Secure shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Secure shopping

Vinyl & CDs

The world's largest dance music store featuring the most comprehensive selection of new and back catalogue dance music Vinyl and CDs online.  Visit Juno Records

Robert Hood prepares third Nighttime World LP

The Music Man label will release the third Nighttime World album from respected Detroit techno producer Robert Hood in September.

Hood launched the Nighttime World series back in 1995 on Austria’s Cheap label, with the album helping to establish his reputation as one of Detroit’s most talented and versatile techno producers. Its follow-up appeared on M-Plant, Hood’s now familiar home, in 2000 and continued the producer’s forays into the worlds of jazz, minimal and old-fashioned floor-filling techno.

Set to arrive some twelve years on, Motor: NightTime World 3 follows the lineage of many an album by Detroit electronic music pioneers – think Jeff Mills, Carl Craig and, of course, Drexciya – in being based around a concept: Julien Temple’s acclaimed documentary film Requiem for Detroit, a bleak exploration of the history and future of the city’s famed motor industry being the inspiration for the twelve track set.

According to the press release, the album sees Hood “examine the life, history and future of Detroit’s motor industry and its workforce, set against a backdrop of decay, hope and re-birth.” Musically, it’s said to stick to the formula Hood developed on the previous instalments of the series, meaning we should expect a far-sighted fusion of jazz and stripped-back techno. The tracklist hints at a structured, soundtrack-style journey, moving from the glory days of Detroit car manufacturing,  through technological changes to mass unemployment and potential rebirth.

To promote the album, Hood will also tour Australia in November. So far, gigs have been confirmed in Melbourne (November 9) and Perth (16), with further dates to be added.

Music Man will release Motor: Nighttime World 3 by Robert Hood across triple vinyl, CD and digital formats on September 17.


1. The Exodos [sic]
2. Motor City
3. Better Life
4. The Wheel
5. Black Technician
6. Learning
7. Drive (The Age of Automation)
8. Torque One
9. Hate Transmissions
10. Slow Motion Katrina
11. Assembly
12. A Time To Rebuild