Secure shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

Secure shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Secure shopping

Vinyl & CDs

The world's largest dance music store featuring the most comprehensive selection of new and back catalogue dance music Vinyl and CDs online.  Visit Juno Records

Various – Relish 3 EP 2 review

Robbie Insinna’s Relish imprint is one of those dependable labels that operates outside the harsh focus of musical trends, wisely choosing to go about their business safe in the knowledge that individuals whose tastes are not dictated by Attention Deficit Disorder will always check in to see what the Zurich based label is up to. This EP sees four further tracks from the label’s digital compilation Relish 3 that was released last autumn, featuring the likes of Daniel Avery, JR Seaton and Insinna himself under the recently established International project across 24 inches of wax.

Daniel Avery is of course more commonly known as Stopmakingme, but has recently chosen to record under his real name in an effort to dabble in musical endeavours away from those associated with the Soulwax influenced moniker. “Oyster” is a fine example of his current ear for machine driven sludge funk; reverberant gaseous synths cascade around the driving motorik beat whilst Avery fills the gaps with all manner of lo-fi bleeps and textures. Alongside this, sometime Sunday Best artist Fear Of Theydon is employed to remix “Fate Glory” by Montevideo, delivering a sprawling punk funk monstrosity complemented by burrowing Italo bass arpeggios and Jean Waterlot’s intermittent vocal contributions that delicately soar.

The Berlin based JR Seaton came to the fore via material on his own Nocturnes imprint and has been a regular contributor to Relish for several years now. More recently Seaton has been focusing on material under the Call Super name, which to date has delivered an excellent EP for 5 Easy Pieces as well as a stunningly inventive remix of the seminal Peven Everett and Roy Davis Jnr track “Gabriel”. His contribution here is very reminiscent of the emotions that cover version evoked, with “No Other Place” a delightful juxtaposition of gentle melodic tones and jagged rhythms which adds further credence to the opinion the Berlin dweller is one of those who can draw beautiful sounds out of electronic music. Insinna creeps in on the action for the final track as International alongside Stefano for the baggy vibes of “Man Ray”, which sounds like a much needed archival find from the early90s DAT tapes of Sir Andy Weatherall.

Tony Poland


A1. Daniel Avery – Oyster
A.2 Montevideo – Fate Glory (Fear Of Theydon)
B1. JR Seaton – No Other Place
B2. International – Man Ray