Broom & Ruskin delve deeper into The Fear Ratio

Techno deities James Ruskin and Mark Broom will release a collaborative album entitled Light Box in November.

The project, knows as The Fear Ratio, has seen two of the UK’s finest proponents of no-nonsense, immaculately sculpted techno locked in the studio together. These sessions have already borne three 12″s – No Time Soon, Erotic Misery and Night Nurse – two of which were released on Ruskin’s Blueprint Records, with the other pressed up on Broom’s Beard Man imprint.

The Fear Ratio moniker was adopted following the release of these club-focused 12″s, with the album project honing in on more abstract and experimental textures. In addition to the 11 original tracks, the package also includes remixes from Warp stalwarts Plaid and Broom and Ruskin as Deadhand.

Ruskin revealed details about the project in an interview with Juno Plus earlier this year. He said a live Fear Ratio project was also in the works, with a press release distributed today claiming these would commence in 2012.

Light Box will be released by Blueprint Records on November 14 in CD, 2xLP and digital formats.


1. Intro
2. Guv 1
3. Ax
4. Pinhead
5. Antiarc
6. Bronik
7. Mas
8. Morning Blues
9. Guv Three
10. Mutant Roach
11. The Quick And The Dead
12. Guv Three (Deadhand Mix)
13. Morning Blues (Plaid remix)