Secure shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

Secure shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Secure shopping

Vinyl & CDs

The world's largest dance music store featuring the most comprehensive selection of new and back catalogue dance music Vinyl and CDs online.  Visit Juno Records

Juno Plus Podcast 06: Nightwave

The newly christened Nightwave takes up the mantle for the sixth Juno Plus podcast.

Formerly known as 8Bitch, Maya Medvesek was born in Slovenia but musically matured in the rich cultural surrounds of Glasgow in the company of LuckyMe and the labels that pooled together to form Numbers. Having first come to our attention via last year’s Equinox EP on Seed Records, the producer has relocated to London and is set for wider recognition in the coming months.

Alongside a long awaited forthcoming EP for Svetlana Industries, Nightwave is also ready to unleash a slew of remixes which further showcase her unique synth heavy melding of techno and hip-hop futurism. This Nightwave mix is perhaps the most immediate contribution to our podcast series so far, expertly veering between sounds old and new as well as including a smattering of her own productions and some R&B heaters.

“This mix contains a variety of tunes, from my early influences like Drexciya and Dopplereffekt to people whose music I’m really feeling at the moment like Lone and Melé,” Maya told Juno Plus.

“I worship Underground Resistance so there’s also a couple of remixes by UR members (Mark Flash and Rolando) and a couple of my tunes as well, plus some Aaliyah and Ciara.”

Speaking about the immediate future for Nightwave, Maya said: “My next EP  is out soon on Svetlana Industries as well as a bunch of remixes for My Panda Shall Fly, Sleepyhead and Sleeps In Oysters.”

Expanding on the name change she added: “All my future projects will be under Nightwave, I’ve decided to stop using 8Bitch as it was simply too PR restrictive and wasn’t really a good representation of my music.”

(The download of this mix has now been archived. You can still stream it via the Mixcloud player above)

Length: 00:50:08


1. Drexciya – Hydro Theory (Warp Records)
2. Dopplereffekt – Satellites (International Deejay Gigolo Records)
3. Jacques Greene – The Look (LuckyMe)
4. Surkin – White Knight Two (Institubes)
5. Lone – Pineapple Crush (Magic Wire)
6. Killa Productions – Good Life (Mr. B Special Edit) (K.B Records)
7. Jacques Greene – The Look (Mark Flash remix) (LuckyMe)
8. Wiley – Electric Boogaloo (Hudson Mo remix) (Back Yard)
9. Nightwave – Fruit Pastilles (NA)
10. Ciara – Deuces (Nguzunguzu remix) (NA)
11. Contakt – Not Forgotten (Rolando’s VNO remix) (Local Action)
12. Seiji – Starlight (NA)
13. Terror Danjah – Acid (Hyperdub)
14. Rustie – Dragonfly (Warp Records)
15. Siriusmo – Mosaik (Monkeytown)
16. Sleepyhead – Good Love (Nightwave remix) (NA)
17. RSD – Naked Mariokart (Graphics remix) (NA)
18. Aaliyah – Are You That Somebody (Cedaa remix) (NA)
19. Mumdance – Smasher (Melé remix) (Mad Decent)