100% Secure Shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Secure Shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.Visit Juno DJ

Today: Broken Beat/Nu Jazz

Items 1 to 6 of 6 on page 1 of 1
Subscribe to our weekly Broken Beat emails
Thursday 18 July 2019
Cat: FW 196. Rel: 18 Jul 19
  1. Cost Of Living (2:58)
  2. Don't Cry Now (4:36)
  3. Sugar (4:29)
  4. Zallom (3:10)
Review: After offering up EPs titled "Hard Times" and "Changing Times" in 2017, Kaidi Tatham returns to First Word to complete the trilogy with "Serious Times". Of course, the music contained within the EP's tightly packed grooves is as joyous, rich as intricate as ever. Check, for example, "Don't Cry Now", a samba-soaked, sun-kissed affair that wraps harmonic freestyle vocals, twinkling electric piano lines and darting jazz-funk bass around a seriously shuffling groove. Tatham's much-discussed jazz-funk influences are once again given an airing on "Sugar", while his fine piano work takes pride of place on instrumental hip-hop head-nodder "Zallom". Best of all, though, is opener "Cost of Living", which emphatically weaves together all of these strands and more besides.
Read more
 in stock $8.03
Input Vol 1 (2xLP + MP3 download code)
Cat: STUDRCDLP 011. Rel: 18 Jul 19
  1. EVM128 - "Changes" (feat Renato Paris) (4:54)
  2. EVM128 & Turbojazz - "Read Him" (5:33)
  3. EVM128 & ILL Smith - "Gold" (feat Nesha Nycee) (4:06)
  4. EVM128 & Gonzi - "Gut Leve" (4:22)
  5. EVM128 & Shy One - "One Design" (feat Steve Edwards) (5:21)
  6. EVM128 - "The Edge" (feat Daiva) (4:07)
  7. EVM128 & Ishfaq - "Complete Me" (feat Natalie May) (4:43)
  8. EVM128, Gonzi, James Rudie & Ishfaq - "Naughty Groove" (6:37)
 in stock $22.03
Tuesday 16 July 2019
The Ghost EP (12" + insert)
Cat: OR 004. Rel: 16 Jul 19
  1. 2003, South London (5:08)
  2. Working Aspirations (feat Klein Zage) (3:47)
  3. The Ghost (4:56)
  4. Ridgewood B (feat Alessandra) (4:16)
  5. Ridgewood B (Reckonwrong remix) (3:07)
 in stock $9.07
Sombra Do Dragao (hand-numbered 180 gram vinyl 12" limited to 300 copies) (1 per customer)
Cat: JD 46. Rel: 16 Jul 19
  1. Dirty Trix (4:55)
  2. Until The End (6:20)
  3. Sombra Do Dragao (2:21)
Review: Man of many names and even more styles, Daniel Maunik follows up his "A Vicious Circle" EP with three more beguiling outernational adventures. Already a member of the Far Out family through the Far Out Disco Monster Orchestra, these singles represent a heavier, more intense mood as Daniel whips up dancefloor storms in the best unconventional ways. "Dirty Trix" sets the scene with a classic French filtered feel before the juiciest of basslines takes the lead, "Until The End" is pure jazz in its jittering key hook while the title track "Sombra Do Dragao" brings the EP to a fizzy percussive frenzy. Perfect summer business.
Read more
Played by: Alex Attias
 in stock $11.14
Monday 15 July 2019
Cat: CL 01. Rel: 15 Jul 19
  1. Sarmoung (5:28)
  2. Ultima Caccia (2:21)
  3. Stelle Marine (3:27)
  4. Portinatx (3:47)
Review: Chiaia Lovers is the latest label to rise from Naples' vibrant electronic music underground. For release number one, the freshly minted imprint has turned to fellow debutant Prince Ozay, a producer apparently inspired by the teachings of early 20th century philosopher and mystic Georges Gurdjieff (a man who sported one of the finest moustaches of all time). It's a rather fine debut, all told, with the mysterious producer skipping between wild jazz-funk/broken beat/space funk fusion ("Samoung"), deep and dreamy nu-jazz ("Ultima Caccia"), mystical ambience (the inspired and intoxicating "Stelle Marine") and acoustic guitar-sporting Balearic bliss ("Portinatx").
Read more
 in stock $13.22
Volta (reissue) (gold vinyl LP)
Cat: CB 84LP. Rel: 15 Jul 19
  1. Go Slow (3:54)
  2. Need Somebody (4:59)
  3. Goodnight Moon (4:22)
  4. Every Time (4:01)
  5. Volta (4:42)
  6. Enigma (4:52)
  7. Jungle Law (5:07)
  8. Happening Again (4:42)
  9. Old Song (4:06)
  10. Taboo (4:10)
  11. Lights Out (2:09)
 in stock $20.72
Items 1 to 6 of 6 on page 1 of 1


Today: Broken Beat/Nu Jazz