100% Secure Shopping

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Secure Shopping

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.Visit Juno DJ

Anthony Joseph

Items 1 to 2 of 2 on page 1 of 1
People Of The Sun (gatefold heavyweight vinyl 2xLP)
Cat: HS 185VL. Rel: 02 Oct 18
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz
  1. Milligan (feat Ella Andall) (8:27)
  2. Sans Souci (Totem) (feat Len 'Boogsie' Sharpe) (9:28)
  3. Bandit School (feat 3 Canal) (0:25)
  4. Suffering (This Savage Work) (6:45)
  5. Dealings (feat Brother Resistance) (7:13)
  6. Incense Taxi (2:33)
  7. Dig Out Your Eye (7:36)
  8. He Was Trying (9:14)
  9. On The Move (5:44)
  10. Jungle (feat Meena Joseph) (7:30)
  11. People Of The Sun (feat John John Francis) (5:52)
Review: Anthony Joseph is a poet, novelist, musician and lecturer described as 'the leader of the black avant-garde in Britain'. For his latest outing, he presents an album that had long lurked inside his mind. He formed a band in Trinidad's capital, Port of Spain (the aptly named Caribbean Roots) and they began recording - soaking up the intense effervescence of the local music - past and present. They locked themselves in a house that they converted into a studio in the earlier part of 2017, where among them were practitioners of the steelpan, soca and rapso right, alongside lovers of more contemporary R&B, soul and rock flavours. The steelpan's metallic overtones are the album's guiding musical thread throughout, helping to highlight Joseph's political lyrics, social commentary and conscience of black identity. The grooves are strong and they bring both the players and listeners together in a collective trance. People Of The Sun is sure to push Trinidadian music to new listeners, far beyond its sandy shores.
Read more
 in stock $18.14
Caribbean Roots (gatefold heavyweight vinyl 2xLP + insert)
Cat: HS 131LP. Rel: 20 Jun 16
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz
  1. The Kora (9:23)
  2. Jimmy, Upon That Bridge (6:29)
  3. Neckbone (4:12)
  4. Mano A Mano (4:54)
  5. Brother Davis (Yanvalou) (7:14)
  6. Drum Song (6:53)
  7. Our History (6:01)
  8. Slinger (4:31)
  9. Powerful Peace (5:05)
  10. Caribbean Roots (10:34)
Review: Anthony Joseph's roots run deep in the Caribbean, and the Trinidad native's singular spoken word style is full of colour and energy, just like the islands he hails from. All the music on Caribbean Roots is essentially a form of funked-out free jazz, but the vocals on the likes of "The Kora" are as powerful and evocative as the music itself. But the madness doesn't end there by any stretch of the imagination - the Miles Davis like speed of "Drum Song" is like a call to the Gods, "Slinger" is a fast-paced afrofunk shuffle, and others like "Our History" offer a more soulful edge to this wonderfully contained pandemonium. Fantastic music.
Read more
 in stock $20.57
Items 1 to 2 of 2 on page 1 of 1


Anthony Joseph
Release Date